Bures C.C. v St Martins C.C.


Bures Cricket Club won by 4 wickets


BURES CC v St Martins CC (Home T20)

We welcomed St Martins for their second visit to Bures for a T20 match on a warm Tuesday evening, the Bures captain for the day kept up the tradition of usually losing the toss and unsurprisingly the visitors decided to have a bat first.

Bures, with quite a changes to the side from the previous game but still able to field a strong side set about bowling very tightly, with the St Martins batsman struggling get the ball away. Both opening bowlers taking wickets in an impressive spell (Tom W – 2/29, Chris C – 1/16) that set the tone for the innings. Each change to the bowling bought about wickets, and with only 3 batsman scoring in the double figures, Bures were able to restrict the opponents to 112 all out in the 20th over. Special mention must go to Archie for bowling a maiden in the 18th over, not something you see regularly in a T20 match!

A quick turnaround, which meant only the time for a couple of beers in the interval, and the Bures openers Sean & Nick walked out to begin the chase. Some tight bowling bought some early wickets, but with Nick going well and eventually out for a well played 24, Bures were well ahead of the run rate. St Martins kept creating chances and when Charlie Claisse was bowled for an excellent 27 and the captain following soon having got a bit carried away after hitting a 6 for 17, there were some nerves in the pavilion. Fear not, the ever reliable Charlie E strode out and finished the game with a huge 6 to seal a 4 wicket win in the 17th over.

We then retired to the bells with the opposition for a few well deserved drinks.


Date Time League Season
July 5, 2022 6:30 pm 2022 Season 2022


Vicarage Meadow
Bures St. Mary, Babergh, Suffolk, East of England, England, United Kingdom


TeamRunsWickets LostOversOutcome
St Martins Cricket Club112920Loss
Bures Cricket Club115616.3Win

St Martins Cricket Club

Batting   R 4s 6s
John C 2400
Phil M 1100
Mark W 000
Andy G 3300
Nigel H 1400
Steve P 000
Simon G 200
Duncan 600
Ian Frost 100
Pete C 300
Tom W 000
Total 11200

Did not bat: Tom W

Bowling O M R W
Pete C40201
Mark W30121
Nigel H50322
Andy G20161

Bures Cricket Club

Batting   R 4s 6s
Sean Reilly 200
Nick Morgan 2440
Hugh Stanton 1020
Steve Thornton 800
Charlie Claisse 2732
Luke Terry 1931
Archie Wilkinson 100
Charlie Erith 1311
David Holme 000
Chris Crace 000
Total 115134

Did not bat: David Holme, Chris Crace

Bowling O M R W
Chris Crace40161
Archie Wilkinson41180
Luke Terry3091
David Holme30282
Charlie Erith2072